My Digiscoping Set-Up

 

Leica D-Lux 3 camera. Attached onto a Leica Digital Adapter 2 and mounted onto a Leica Eyepiece T 77 32X WW, that was attached to the body of a Leica APO Televid 77 Angeled Scope.

Digiscoping is another way of taking a few tools and putting them together to give you an option for capturing birds or the like. Something you would normally NOT be able to do, because of the contraints in the distance of where the subject is.  This  is another step into a world you have never seen before and perhaps had wondered about. How could you ever get that photograph without the huge lenses and expense that’s involved.  The answer for you may well be digiscoping. Below, I will show you photographs of the tools I use for digiscoping and my setup.

Please take note that digiscoping is NOT for everyone or for the faint of heart. It is not as easy as it looks. It took me quite some time to figure out just the right settings from my type of rig., And even then, there was lots of tweaking to do. This coming from a vetern photographer that knows the craft. I almost threw in the towel as I was so fustrated with it all! Many grumbling days followed. Finally, all the pieces came together and presto! Because of doing digiscoping and finally being convinced about digital and being ready., I decided to return to the world of photography in the digital form rather than film.

Here is my digiscoping tools followed by a few photographs of what you can do with this setup.

Leica Digital Adapter 2

Leica D-Lux 3 Point & Shoot Camera Back

Leica D-Lux 3 Point & Shoot Camera Front

View of Leica D-LUX 3 Camera attached onto the Digital adapter 2

Leica D-LUX 3 Camera attached to the Digital Adapter 2

Complete Digiscope Set-up with the Leica APO Televid 77 Angeled Scope

This is the kind of image you can capture with digiscoping a subject that can be quite a distance away. For further interests about other birdwatching optics, please click under the header or here Birdwatching about Spotting Scope Optics and Binocular Thoughts.

Yellow-Headed Blackbird 4/12/09, Milford CT.

About Kymry

Welcome to the KymryGroup™. We will be showcasing photography by several different photographers with a look in time from 1922 to the present. Share Business, Marketing, Podcasting, Technology of Photography. Including adventures in the birding world and many other interesting insights and observations along the way.
This entry was posted in Birding, Digiscoping, Equipment, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to My Digiscoping Set-Up

  1. Alan Morris says:

    Hello. Wondering if you know how to mount my Nikon DSLR to my Leica APO Televid 7 Spotter scope. I have the T2-AI adapter ring that attaches to my Nikon, but must be missing a piece that attaches to the scope. I’ve been trying on and off for several years now and keep falling short of making the connection and entering this new realm for me. You are the first person I have found who seem to be in the know on these things. Sorry to bother you if I’m barking up a wrong tree.

Leave a comment